Interior Design


Mark Hampton Written by Duane Hampton
Buy this Book

Mark Hampton: An American Decorator

Written by Duane Hampton

  • April 27, 2010
  • Hardcover
  • House & Home - Decorating
  • Rizzoli
  • 9 x 12
  • $60.00
  • $73.00
  • 978-0-8478-3288-0

About This Book

A celebration of the career of the late interior designer Mark Hampton (1940–1998), whom the New York Times called "an icon of American Style."

In the tradition of Albert Hadley and David Hicks, this is a comprehensive look at the career of the late Mark Hampton, one of the most famous and admired American interior designers of the twentieth century. A classic American success story, Hampton grew up in small-town Indiana and went on to worldwide fame. He began his career working for some of the greatest interior designers of the age: Mrs. Henry Parish II, David Hicks, and McMillen, Inc. He later went on to design for such clients as Brooke Astor, Estee Lauder, Jacqueline Onassis, and the Henry Kissingers, in addition to his work on the White House, Camp David, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the National Gallery of Art, and the American Academy in Rome. Known for the tremendous depth and breadth of his knowledge, Hampton refused to be pigeonholed into a trademark style, moving effortlessly from sleek modernism to English country and back again. A highly popular lecturer who drew crowds, Hampton was also the author of two books, as well as a designer of both furniture and fabrics.

Rich with original materials including Hampton’s watercolors, sketches, and notebooks, as well as hundreds of images of Hampton’s important commissions, and impeccably researched and intimately written by his widow, Duane Hampton, this will be a visual feast for everyone interested in interiors as well as an important addition to the history of interior design.

About the Author

Duane Hampton is the widow of the late Mark Hampton and a writer and editor in the field of interior decoration. She is the author of The Art of Friendship, a compilation of Mark Hampton’s watercolors

Reviews

  • "Mark Hampton, An American Decorator... is both a love letter to [Duane Hampton's] late husband and a vivid portrait of the times he lived and worked in... A photographic memoir of Mr. Hampton's 40-year career." ~New York Times

    "Lovingly penned by Mark Hampton's widow, Duane, this guide chronicles the fulfillment of his American dream, from humble beginnings to meteoric rise, showcasing interiors that proved him a master of style." ~Veranda

    "Duane does justice to her late husband's legacy by combining careful research with personal insights in this comprehensive look at the designer's career.  Recognized as 'an icon of American Style' by The New York Times, Mark Hampton left behind a diverse body of work when he died in 1998, with a portfolio that defies labels and ranges from modern to traditional.  Hundreds of photographs, as well as Mark's watercolors and sketches, illustrate his varied projects for such clients as Jacqueline Onassis, Estée Lauder and the White House.  Why We Love It: Mark's rags to riches story- having grown up in a small Indiana town before rising to world renown- is an example of the American Dream come true." ~Luxe

    "He was one of America's great gentlemen decorators, with clients such as Pamela Harriman, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, and Estée Lauder.  But Mark Hampton was no snob.  He never forgot his roots as a small town boy, and he believed that good design and comfort should be accessible to anybody.  Mark Hampton: An American Decorator, written by his widow, Duane, makes his ideas and principles- not to mention a survey of his dazzling rooms- available to all." ~Elle Decor

    "Mark Hampton: An American Decorator, by Duane Hampton, is the first definitive look at this giant of design, captured as only his devilishly funny wife could.  Mark, who died in 1998, was synonymous with English style, but his work was far more various." ~House Beautiful
  • bookmark, share, and shelve:
  • Bookmark and Share
  • goodreads
  • LibraryThing
  • shelfari
  • Links to our Affiliates and Imprints:

  • Universe
  • Skira Rizzoli New York
  • Rizzoli Ex Libris
  • Flammarion
  • Skira
  • Hardie Grant
  • Marsilio
  • RCS Libri
Find us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Follow us on Pinterest
Follow us on YouTube
Follow us on Instagram
Follow us on Issuu
Corporate Membership: Met
© 2010- Rizzoli International Publications
site design by Duuplex